Find Articles & Info

computer user

Welcome to our databases page, offering access to millions of articles in journals, magazines, encyclopedias and more.

If you need help, don’t hesitate to ask a librarian.

Popular Resources

In library only

Novelist Masterfile Premier Academic Search Premier

 

All databases and websites, by subject

Click a subject below to see a list of library databases and web links. Some resources are available from any computer connected to the internet, others will require you to enter your Newport Public Library card number. A few resources are only available in the library.

 

Books & Authors

Literary Reference Center

Novelist

 

Business

Encyclopedia of Small Business

ReferenceUSA

Regional Business News

Newport Chamber of Commerce

Providence Business News

More…

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica (in library)(from home)

Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism

Encyclopedia of Small Business

Funk and Wagnalls Encyclopedia

World Book Online

 

Genealogy & History

Ancestry – Library Edition (in library only)

Biography Collection Complete

Heritage Quest (in library) (from home)

History Reference Center

New York Times Historical 1851-2007 (in library only)

Rhode Island Historical Newspapers

More…

 

Government

Federal Digital System (formerly GPO Access)

Library of Congress Thomas

More…

 

Home, Garden & Auto

Auto Repair

MasterFile Premier

URI Greenshare

The Old Farmer’s Almanac

 

Health

Alternate Health Watch

Consumer Health Complete

Health Source – Consumer Edition

Health Source:  Nursing/Academic Edition

Medline

Salud en Espanol

MedlinePLUS

Doc Finder – RI Department of Health

More…

 

Jobs & Employment

R. I. Department of Labor & Training

Providence Journal Career Center

RIJobs.Com

Rhode Island Workers Compensation

More…

 

Law

Encyclopedia of Everyday Law

Newport Codified Ordinances

RI General Laws

More…

 

Learning & Careers

College Source Catalogs

Learning Express Library

Mango Languages

Universal Class

 

Newspapers, Magazines, and Journals

Academic Search Premier

GreenFILE

MasterFile Premier

New York Times (in library only)

New York Times Historical 1851-2007 (in library only)

Newspaper Source

Providence Journal (in library) (from home)

Rhode Island Historical Newspapers

Share