View your grandparent’s census records, look up a phone number, or search for articles in encyclopedias, academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. If you’d like help with your research, remember that you can always ask a librarian for assistance!
Alphabetical Listing of Resources
A core resource for scholarly information across a range of disciplines. Includes thousands of journals, with content either available in full-text or abstracted and indexed.
A popular genealogy resource. Provides access to census data, vital records, directories, photos, and other key genealogical research tools.
An online information resource for Rhode Island residents. Databases offered are particularly useful for students, jobseekers, librarians, and educators.
A reference and marketing database providing access to millions of residential and business records. Use to find businesses and jobs, access resume and cover letter templates, build mailing lists, or conduct market research.
A do-it-yourself resource for repairing and maintaining domestic and imported vehicles manufactured between 1954 and today. Includes step-by-step photos, video overviews, wiring diagrams, service bulletins, and other resources.
Contains full-text biographies of notable figures, including well-known artists, athletes, scientists, and political leaders. Global in scope. Search by name or browse the database’s 30 categories to identify personalities of interest.
Designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Covers all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
An online library of education research and information maintained by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences. Provides article, reports, and data for people interested in learning more about the theory and practice of education.
Provides access to hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, maps, country comparison tools, and informational websites. Updated regularly. Please click here to access this resource from inside the library.
EBSCO’s interface for teachers, offering access to lesson plans, curriculum standards, and professional development resources. Allows you to access multiple EBSCO databases at once, using a Google-like search box. Patrons can search across ERIC, Teacher Reference Center, Points of View Reference Center, and EBSCO’s ebook collection.
EBSCO’s interface for elementary school students. Kids can search across Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, Middle Search Plus, TOPICSearch, Topic Overview K-5, Points of View Reference Center, and EBSCO’s ebook collection.
EBSCO’s interface for public library patrons. Allows you to access multiple EBSCO databases at once, using a Google-like search box. Patrons can search across MasterFILE Premier, Topic Overviews, Consumer Health Complete, Points of View Reference Center, Read It!, and EBSCO’s ebook collection.
EBSCO’s interface for middle and high school students. Tweens/teens can search across History Reference Center, TOPICSearch, Academic Search Elite, Literary Reference Center, Topic Overview 6-12, Consumer Health Complete, Middle Search Plus, MasterFILE Premier, Biography Collection Complete, Points of View Reference Center, Read It!, and EBSCO’s ebook collection.
Provides access to original military records, including registration cards, pension files, and other records of service. Part of Ancestry.com’s collection of online resources. Available in library only.
A popular information resource offering full-text articles on a range of subjects.
A collection of popular, scholarly, and government-authored resources on environmental issues. Covers topics such as climate change, sustainable agriculture, green building, and renewable energy.
A comprehensive consumer health resource, providing information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorders to alternative and complementary medical practices.
A genealogical tool offering primary resources, family histories, and finding aids. Includes six core data sets – US Federal Censuses, genealogical and local history books, Revolutionary War records, Freedman’s Bank Records, the US Congressional Serial Set, and Allen County’s Periodical Source Index Archive.
Provides over half a million full-text articles on historical topics from peer-reviewed journals, reference books, and other sources. Also includes primary source documents, biographies, maps, and historical photos.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Content available covers economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.
Offers students and adult learners resources for achieving their educational and career goals. Content includes tutorials and practice tests, resume and cover letter writing guides, and workplace skill-building tools.
Provides indexing and abstracting for key library and information science journals, books, and research reports. Coverage includes 600+ journals and extends back to the mid-1960s.
Features a full-text collection of author biographies, plot summaries, critical essays, and more. Covers a broad range of genres and timeframes.
A resource for developing language proficiency and cultural awareness around real-world communication skills. Offers 60+ languages with lessons in an interactive visual/auditory format.
Provides full-text articles from nearly 1,700 periodicals. Topics covered: general reference, business, health, education, general science, culture, and more.
Access many of the biomedical and health journals indexed in the National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE database. Content is largely full-text and available with no embargo, allowing doctors, nurses, health professionals, and researchers to access to the information as soon as it is published.
Offers user-friendly health and wellness information from the National Library of Medicine. Find information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.
Provides full-text articles from magazines for middle and junior high school students. Content includes biographies, historical essays, student pamphlets, primary source documents, etc. Materials come with reading level indicators.
A comprehensive, up-to-date investment tool. Get data and analysis on stocks, mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds, or obtain data on a particular industry. An NPL barcode (the 14-digit number on the back of your library card) is required to access this resource remotely. Please click here to access Morningstar from inside the library.
Provides full-text access to the paper from its first issue in 1851. Content is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract); it includes illustrations and advertisements. (Note: this publication’s title changed from The New York Daily Times to The New York Times in 1857.) An NPL barcode (the 14-digit number on the back of your library card) is required to access this resource remotely.
Offers access to past editions of newspapers from the United States and abroad. Search or browse the collection of 4,200+ titles to find news reports, notices of births/marriages/deaths, sports headlines, comics, and more. An NPL barcode (the 14-digit number on the back of your library card) is required to access this resource remotely. Please click here to access newspapers.com from inside the library.
A readers’ advisory solution for both fiction and nonfiction lovers, offering author and title read-alikes, book discussion groups guides, and more. Answers the question: “What should I read next?”.
A more robust version of EBSCO’s Novelist database. Includes nonfiction titles and audiobooks.
Provides resources exploring multiple sides of complex issues. Helps students assess and develop persuasive arguments, better understand current issues, and develop essay writing skills.
Contains full-text articles from popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries, and a vast image collection. Covers a range of topics, from endangered species and famous musicians to fitness and space exploration.
Contains articles published in the paper from 1983 through today. Obituaries are not included. An NPL barcode (the 14-digit number on the back of your library card) is required to access this resource remotely.
Search local newspapers from the colonial era through the early 20th century (1732-1921). Contains over two dozen publications, including the Newport-based Rhode Island Gazette, Newport Mercury, Newport Herald, and Rhode Island Republican. An NPL barcode (the 14-digit number on the back of your library card) is required to access this resource remotely.
An interactive language learning program focusing on visual and auditory lessons; pictures and sounds are presented in real-world contexts, with no translation. An NPL barcode (the 14-digit number on the back of your library card) is required to access this resource remotely.
Provides a searchable database of Rhode Island fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company. Coverage for Newport includes maps from 1884, 1891, 1896, 1903, and 1921.
Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered include Best Practices, Curriculum Development, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Science & Mathematics, School Administration, and more.
Offers teachers, librarians, and students resources for supporting classroom discussion. Content covers current events, a range of socio-economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics frequently discussed in school.
Provides online tutoring sessions for students and job seekers. Tutors can assist with homework assignments, test taking skills, interview preparation, and resume/cover letter writing.
An online, interactive complement to World Book’s popular print reference set.