Library back entrance

Our Mission

The Newport Public Library seeks to strengthen the community by providing opportunities that support lifelong learning, encourage inspiration, imagination, and enjoyment, and connect people to each other and to the rest of the world.

Our Administrative Staff

The Administration office is open Monday through Friday until 4:00pm and can be reached at (401) 847-8720.

Anne Shepherd, Director
ext. 102,  email

Deborah James, Administrative Secretary
ext. 100,  email

Annette Love, Bookkeeper and Notary Public
ext. 101,  email

Board of Trustees

Michael Dawson, President
Robin Skuncik Jones, Immediate Past President
Jennifer Booth, Vice President
Susan McCoy, Secretary
Michael Dutton, Treasurer
Chuck Flippo, President, Friends of the Library
Girard Galvin
Angel Gonzalez
David S. Gordon
Linda Martin
David Reed
Rita Slom
Jessica Walsh
Justin S. McLaughlin, City Council Liaison

Library Policies

Here are some of the major public policies of the library. If you would like to look at additional policies or have any questions, please contact the Administration office at (401) 847-8720, ext. 100.